Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


motivator6981326.jpg

Photo copyright Suresh Gundappa 2007 buy this photo from my Gallery

Poem copyright Suresh:

I went to church and came back with a candle which couldn’t light
I went to Mosque and came back with smell of blood on my shirt
I went to temple and came back hurt

Went home, found a river, cried alone,
My lord, I have lost
Who are you? Where are you?
I couldn’t find you in any prayer place.

Tears in my eyes, heart bleeding
I settled for what I found inside myself
I settled for heart with love
I settled for no-mind and non judgment
I settled for breathing slowly

I searched the trio everywhere
Finally found them in rest and awareness

I found then Jesus waiting at Mohammad’s place
Since then I haven’t been to prayer house
But just carried prayer within

Now I meet Mohammad, Jesus, Krishna everyday
Not in prayer houses
But in hearts.
They all look same
But wear different clothes.

Somewhere I still bleed at prayer houses
But I found healing balm in love

Love
Suresh

I never belong any religion at least by practice. I enjoy fragrances from Bible as much I enjoyed verses from Quran or Gita.

Years back I went to my friend my dear friend Mansoor’s house for a Biriyani(spicy flavored rice) on a Muslim festival. As I entered his house I found a beautiful cross hanging on his wall.

I couldn’t resist photographing it. As I was looking into it, Mansoor quoted Rumi’s beautiful words“I am not a Christian, I am not a Jew, I am not a Zoroastrian,
and I am not even a Muslim”& “Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and right doing, there is a field. I’ll meet you there”

My friend Mansoor follows the path of Sufi, to him there is nothing else except love. Sufi’s believe Mohammad and Jesus are fruits of same tree.
I photographed this beautiful cross at his house in Mysore. I wrote above poem there inspired by what happened at that moment along with this photograph, I thought I could share it with you today. Hope you enjoyed it too.

Love

Suresh

